Skip to content


Denmark is a constitutional monarchy. The legislative power lies with the parliament (Folketinget). As of June 2015 the head of State has been Prime Minister Lars Løkke Rasmussen from the Liberal Party (Venstre).

Denmark’s present constitution dates back to 1849, and is has only been amended a few times since. The head of state is H. M. Queen Margrethe II.

The legislative power lies with the parliament, which is called Folketinget. The parliament has 179 members in one house. Of the 179 members of the parliament, 175 are elected in Denmark, while Greenland and the Faroe Islands each elect 2 representatives. The voting age has been 18 since 1978. Election is held every fourth year, and the last election was held in June 2015.

The Supreme Court heads the judicial branch and judges are appointed by the Queen.